Photo of John D. Cressler


Print  /  Kindle  /  Nook
Watch the Book Trailer

Cover for Shadows in the Shining City

Print  /  Kindle  /  Nook
Watch the Book Trailer

Historical Novels
Set in Medieval Moorish Spain!

Cressler’s Anthems of al-Andalus Series (Sunbury Press)

Book 1 – Emeralds of the Alhambra (2013)
Book 2 – Shadows in the Shining City (2014)
Book 3 – Fortune’s Lament (coming 2016)

Visit EVENTS for Coming Author Appearances


Background Material for Shadows in the Shining City
A Slideshow of Maps
from Shadows in the Shining City
Contemporary Photographs of Settings and Scenes
 Shadows in the Shining City

 Emeralds of the AlhambraBook One of the Anthems of al-Andalus series, bJohn D. Cressler, was released by Sunbury Press on June 5, 2013.      Shadows in the Shining CityBook Two of the Anthems of al-Andalus series, bJohn D. Cressler, was released on July 22, 2014.  


John D. Cressler is a professor and author. Cressler’s historical fiction is aimed at bringing alive medieval Moorish (Muslim) Spain for modern audiences. This site focuses on Cressler’s historical fiction, including: background material, photographs, reviews, videos, radio spots, blog posts, upcoming book presentation and signing events, and an author biography. Readers interested in medieval Spain, the nature of love, interfaith issues, and the concept of convivencia (the unique peaceful coexistence of Muslims, Jews and Christian in medieval Spain) will find the Anthems of al-Andalus series compelling. Or you may just be after a GREAT read. Look no further! Cressler’s first novel, Emeralds of the Alhambra (Sunbury Press, 2013), is set during the Castilian Civil War (1367-1369), a time when Muslims took up their swords to fight alongside Christians. Much of the action takes place within Granada’s Alhambra Palace, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, and the best-preserved medieval Islamic palace in the world. Cressler’s second novel, Shadows in the Shining City (Sunbury Press, 2014), is set in late 10th century Cordoba, at the height of the Golden Age of Moorish Spain. Much of the action takes place within Madinat al-Zahra (literally, ‘the shining city’), widely considered the most lavish royal palace ever constructed in the west. The third novel in the series, Fortune’s Lament, is currently in development and will be set in Granada and Malaga leading up to the fall of the Moorish Spain in 1492. A 2016 release is planned. All three novels are love stories designed to break open this rich history.

In addition to details about Cressler’s fiction, this site also includes material on his many non-fiction books, some of which, Silicon Earth and Reinventing Teenagers, are intended for general audiences. Enjoy!